May or May Not be People Cookies

Remember how I mentioned I was going to try that thing?

I tried it! I’m not mad so I’m hoping you won’t be either (you readers…yes..all of you).

So has you may have heard we are currently a household of two puppies, a forever puppy who is really almost three and a very  all the time hungry cat.

This means that we go through treats, FAST. I mean I buy a bay of training treats whenever I go out to the store I buy another bag of them.

So we decided this week to make our own training treats! They were pretty simple and the general vote is that they are very delicious. Even Boyfriend who accidentally thought they were just weird pumpkin cookies agrees.   I got the recipe from this wonderful blog but I will post the recipe down below.

Starting off you need one or maybe 1/2 depending on the size baked and mashed sweet potato.

Baking a sweet potato you ask? Preheat oven to 400 F rub that baby down with some coconut oil and pop them in the oven for 40-60 minutes depending on the size.

Mash that bad boy up with some apple sauce, melted coconut oil, coconut flour (or flakes) raw honey and eggs.

I ended up adding a little bit more coconut flakes than what the recipe called for so don’t panic. I also only had flakes on hand instead of flour so…thats what did it.

Also good excuse to use my new silicon baking liner. 

Smooth your batter onto a lined cookie sheet until it’s 1/4″ thick and bake in a 350 oven for 20 minutes.

Cut your giant cookie into smaller cookie squares and bake for another 15 minutes until the sides start getting golden and crispy.

Allow to cool, store the bulk of it in the fridge and take a couple to enjoy with the poops!!

 I love that they are chewy for them and easily breakable so then I can make one of the squares last a whole training session, with one puppy of course.

With full sweet potato-y bellies Cecil and Aeron give these treats all of the approval.
Recipe: 
Ingredients:
    
1/2 cup (1/2 -1 depending on size) baked and mashed sweet potato (Or 1/2 cup canned, if you want!)
2 eggs
3 Tablespoons unsweetened applesauce (Or one of those snack packs)
1/4 cup melted coconut oil
1 teaspoon raw honey (Optional)
6 Tablespoons coconut flour (or flakes)
Pinch of unrefined salt (optional for sprinkling on top before baking)
Mix all ingredients until combined.
Spread onto sheet until 1/4″ thick.
Bake in 350F oven for 20 minutes, cut treats into 1″ squares and bake for 15 minutes.
Allow to cool for 10-15 minutes then transfer to air-tight container
Store in refrigerator. 
Best Wishes
G
Leave a Reply

